
INSTRUCTIONS FOR ORDERING A BIRTH RECORD 
1. Print, Fill out completely, and Sign application. (see below for who can order) 
2. Provide proof of Identity (see acceptable methods below) 
3. Enclose cashier’s check or money order (see Fees below) 
4. Enclose a stamped self-addressed return envelope.  

            (enclose a pre-paid envelope from express mail/UPS/FEDEX etc. for expedited          
             service. We do not track mail once it leaves our office - keep all tracking info) 

5. Mail application, I.D., payment, and return envelope to Cascade County Clerk 
and Recorder, 121 4th St N, Suite 1B1 Great Falls, MT 59401  

 
WHO CAN ORDER A CERTIFIED BIRTH CERTIFICATE? 

Only those authorized by 50-15-121 MCA, which includes the registrant (14 years old or older) the registrant’s spouse, 
children, parents or guardian or an authorized representative,  may obtain a certified copy of a birth record. Proof of 
relationship, guardianship or authorization is required.  Step-relatives, in-laws, grandparents, siblings, aunts, uncles, cousins, 
ex-spouses, and a natural parent of an adoptive child or others are NOT eligible to receive a certified copy of a birth certificate. 
Non-certified informational/genealogy copies are available to anyone if record is more than 30 years old. 
Montana birth certificates are full size paper with a raised seal.       Wallet size cards are not available.  
 
IDENTIFICATION IS REQUIRED 
•The person signing the request must provide an enlarged legible photocopy of both sides of their valid driver’s 
license or other legal picture identification with a signature, or the requestor must have the application notarized. 
•If a picture ID with a signature is not available, two other forms of identification are required; one MUST have a 
signature. 
•If you have no identification and an authorized family member cannot send an application for you, then you may 
send a notarized Montana Office of Vital Statistics Statement to Identify form filled out by a witness who has 
known you for more than 2 years who can attest to your identity. (see link on previous page to download this form 
if  needed) 

SUGGESTED IDENTIFICATION 
Picture ID 
with 
Signature 

OR    ANY TWO Forms of ID Listed Below (One MUST 
have a signature) 

OR 

Photocopy of: 
 
Driver’s License 
State ID Card 
Passport 
Tribal ID Card 
Military ID Card 
(w/ signature) 
 
 
 
 

      OR Photocopies of 2 of the below- one with signature: 
 
Social Security Card                          Fishing License                 
Pay Stub                                             Insurance Record 
US Military DD-214                          Traffic/Pawn Ticket 
Utility Bill with a current address      Doctor/Medical Record    
Court Record                                      Library Card 
Voter Registration Card                     Year Book                         
School  ID Card                                  Credit/Debit/ATM Card   
Car Registration/Insurance                 Work ID Card                   

 

OR : Have the application Notarized 
(original application only not faxed or 
photocopied) 
OR:  Have someone who has known 
you for more than 2 years fill out a 
Notarized Montana Office of Vital 
Statistics Statement to Identify 
Certified Birth or Death Certificate 
Applicant Form (original only, not a 
photocopy or faxed copy) along with 
the application filled out by you. 

 
 FEE: (All fees must be U.S. funds) 
Money Order or Cashier’s Check Only, NO personal checks or cash accepted. Make payable to Cascade County Clerk and 
Recorder , and make sure you sign it. (If you come into our office in person, cash is acceptable.) Credit/debit cards not accepted. 
 
Certifed copies of a Birth Certificate:  
Cost is $5.00 for each copy. (non-refundable) You do not need to send separate money orders for multiple requests in one 
envelope. 
Informational copies of a Birth Certificate:  
Cost is $.50 each Not certified (for informational /genealogy purposes only and cannot be used for any legal purpose) may be 
issued to anyone, as long as the birth occurred at least 30 years prior to the date of application. If you do not know the year of 
birth we charge .50 cents per year to search for the record. (non-refundable) 
 
MAIL : Most requests are processed within 2 working days of receipt. You may wish to send your request by an express mail 
(eg. UPS, FEDEX, USPS EXPRESS), along with a pre-paid self addressed return express mail envelope to speed up the 
mailing process. You are responsible for tracking your mail before we receive it and after it leaves our office. Certificates can 
only be mailed to the authorized applicant.  We do not guarantee any return times.  
 
IMPORTANT: If the identification requirement is not met or if the application is incomplete, your request will be returned 
and significant delays in processing your order will occur. 
 



  

MONTANA BIRTH CERTIFICATE APPLICATION 
Cascade County Clerk & Recorder, 121 4th St N Ste 1B1, Great Falls MT 59401 406-454-6718 

www.co.cascade.mt.us 
 

IDENTIFICATION IS REQUIRED 
Picture I.D. with signature or other acceptable proof of identity required. See instruction page. 

 
COMPLETE THE FOLLOWING – PLEASE PRINT  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

OFFICE USE ONLY – DO NOT WRITE IN THIS SPACE 
Certificate #__________________________________ 
Security paper #_________________________ 
Date_________________________________ 
I.D. Verified by__________________________ 

NOTICE: STATE LAW PROVIDES PENALTIES FOR 
PERSONS WHO WILLFULLY AND KNOWINGLY 
USE OR ATTEMPT TO USE OR FURNISH TO 
ANOTHER FOR USE, FOR ANY PURPOSE OF 
DECEPTION,ANY CERTIFICATE, RECORD, REPORT 
OR CERTIFIED COPY MADE, ALTERED, AMENDED 
OR MUTILATED. (50-15-114(C), MCA) 

                          Optional -   NOTARY BLOCK       (if needed - see instructions for proof of identity requirements)
___________________________________personally appeared before me and whose identity I proved on the basis of satisfactory evidence to be the 
signer of the above instrument. 
Subscribed and sworn to before me this _________day of ________________ 20______      
          Signature__________________________________________________                                                 

                               SEAL                                          Printed Name: _____________________________________________ 
                                                                                                            Notary Public in and for the State of_____________________________ 

                                                                                     Residing at ___________________Commission Expires_____________ 

INFORMATION ON BIRTH CERTIFICATE 
NAME OF PERSON ON BIRTH CERTIFICATE: (if adopted or name legally changed give new name) 
 
____________________________________________________________________________________ 
First                                           Middle                                       Last (MAIDEN if female) 
 
DATE OF BIRTH:  Month__ __Day__ __Year __ __ __ __ PLACE ____________________________ 
                                                                                                                     (County or City in Montana where born)  
FATHERS NAME:   (or if adopted give the new name) 
 
_____________________________________________________________________________________ 
First                                           Middle                                       Last 
 
MOTHERS MAIDEN NAME:   (or if adopted give the new name) 
 
_____________________________________________________________________________________ 
First                                           Middle                                       Last MAIDEN (name before marriage) 
 
Reason Birth Certificate is needed____________________________________________________ 
                                                                       ( what are you using the birth certificate for?) 
 
Number of Certified copies ___  @ $5.00 each (No Personal Checks accepted) 
 
Non-certified (informational/genealogy purposes only & must be more than 30 years old - cannot be used for any legal 
purpose) __ @ .50 cents each (if year is unknown searches are .50 cents per year)  

PERSON WHO IS APPLYING FOR BIRTH CERTIFICATE 
 
Your Name as shown on ID (PRINT)________________________________________ 
Your Relationship to person on birth certificate (check one) 
(__) Self   (__) Parent of person   (__) Spouse of person   (__) Child of person   (__) Guardian of person  
(must send original documents as proof )   (__) Authorized representative (must send original documents 
as proof)   (__) Other __________________(if checked you cannot get a certified copy - see instructions)  
 
Address_____________________________________________________________________________  
Daytime Phone no.  (______)__________________________ 
  
SIGNATURE x ______________________________________________________________ 
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